Tours by boat to the Nature Conservancy,
Van Wyck-Lefferts Tide Mill
The mill was built in 1795 and is the only surviving mill in Huntington. This historic site provided a way for farmers to transform their oats, wheat, and corn into flour which made the mill an important part of our local agricultural past. In addition, it is one of the best preserved 18th century tide mills in the country. This tour is a unique and enjoyable way to experience Huntington’s history.
2017 Tour Schedule
September 19 at 1030am
October 19 at 1030am
These private tours are accessible by a short boat ride only. Please note that neither the boat nor the mill is handicapped accessible. This trip is not available to children under the age of twelve. Advanced registration is required.
The tour cost is $20 ($15 for Historical Society members) and lasts 2 hours. Since access to the mill is by boat, some climbing up and down steps, into and out of the boat, is required. Attendance on the tour requires the physical ability to perform these functions. Call (631) 427-7045 Ext 404 for reservations.
From May through October Scheduled tours of the Tide Mill are run at least once a month. They leave, by boat, in Huntington and last 2 hours. Tours, for groups, can also be arranged by appointment.
The Huntington Historical Society is privileged to conduct guided tours of the Lefferts Tide mill, a property of The Nature Conservancy.
The Van Wyck-Lefferts Tide Mill, which harnessed the tides for power, was the height of technology when it was built , by the Van Wyck family in 1795. Water powered mills need falling water and Long Island has few streams. But, as explained on the tour, the many bays and coves, with 8 foot tides, were an unfailing source of power. High tide filled the mill pond through the tide gate, and then, at low tide the trapped water was let out to turn the water wheel. The Lefferts mill is unique in that of the scores of tide mills on Long Islands north shore, it is the only one left with its building intact, on its original dam and with its original massive wooden gears. It is a Long Island treasure.
Tours leave by boat, from West Shore road in Huntington. Eight tours are scheduled over the summer, and additional tours can be arranged for groups, by appointment. Since the tours are generally full, reservations are recommended.